[NIFL-ASSESSMENT:363] Warning about "spoofing"

From: Marie Cora (mariecora@hotmail.com)
Date: Wed Mar 10 2004 - 11:00:01 EST


Return-Path: <nifl-assessment@literacy.nifl.gov>
Received: from literacy (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by literacy.nifl.gov (8.10.2/8.10.2) with SMTP id i2AG01I08591; Wed, 10 Mar 2004 11:00:01 -0500 (EST)
Date: Wed, 10 Mar 2004 11:00:01 -0500 (EST)
Message-Id: <Law9-F108h8s4KWiGtX0003b12c@hotmail.com>
Errors-To: listowner@literacy.nifl.gov
Reply-To: nifl-assessment@literacy.nifl.gov
Originator: nifl-assessment@literacy.nifl.gov
Sender: nifl-assessment@literacy.nifl.gov
Precedence: bulk
From: "Marie Cora" <mariecora@hotmail.com>
To: Multiple recipients of list <nifl-assessment@literacy.nifl.gov>
Subject: [NIFL-ASSESSMENT:363] Warning about "spoofing"
X-Listprocessor-Version: 6.0c -- ListProcessor by Anastasios Kotsikonas
Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed
Status: O
Content-Length: 1771
Lines: 54

Dear everyone,

I received this message from the NIFL Web Specialist this morning warning us 
against "spoofing".  Please read and be alert to the following:


>Hi,
>I wanted to alert all Moderators that you and your subscribers may receive
>messages like the one below sent to their address which LOOK like they come
>from our address. This email is not coming from the NIFL server, the
>nifl.gov address is being "spoofed", meaning someone else is using our 
>email
>address to send viruses, etc. Unfortunately, this is very common now. (it 
>is
>also happening with the ed.gov address among others) There is nothing we 
>can
>do to stop these folks from spoofing at this point in time.
>
>Long story short, DO NOT CLICK LINKS in emails like this. Please pass this
>information on to your subscribers. Thanks.
>
>Please contact me with questions,
>Connie Harich
>(Contractor, Titan Corporation)
>Web Specialist
>National Institute for Literacy
>charich@nifl.gov
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: staff@nifl.gov [mailto:staff@nifl.gov]
>Sent: Wednesday, March 10, 2004 9:41 AM
>To: listowner@literacy.nifl.gov
>Subject: Important notify about your e-mail account.
>
>
>Dear user  of "Nifl.gov" mailing  system,
>
>Your e-mail account will be  disabled because of improper  using  in next
>three  days, if you are  still wishing to use it, please,  resign your
>account  information.
>
>For  more  information see the  attached file.
>
>For  security purposes the attached file is password protected. Password  
>is
>"44856".
>
>Sincerely,
>    The Nifl.gov team  http: //www.nifl.gov

_________________________________________________________________
FREE pop-up blocking with the new MSN Toolbar – get it now! 
http://clk.atdmt.com/AVE/go/onm00200415ave/direct/01/



This archive was generated by hypermail 2b30 : Thu Dec 23 2004 - 09:46:08 EST